Skip navigation

Northern Territory

Aboriginal land is any area given over to Traditional Owners under the Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Act 1976.

The Aboriginal Land Commissioner is a statutory officer of the Commonwealth under the Act. The Commissioner’s functions are:

  • undertaking inquiries into traditional land claims in the Northern Territory 
  • providing reports to the relevant Commonwealth Minister and the Administrator of the NT including findings on Traditional Aboriginal Ownership and recommendations relating to the grant of Aboriginal land
  • providing advice to the Commonwealth Minister on any matter relevant to the Act.

Entities that administer land rights / native title in the Northern Territory include:



As of April 2024, there were 36 Prescribed Body Corporates (PBCs) or Registered Native Title Body Corporates (RNTBCs) in the Northern Territory, including:



As of April 2024, there were 23 native title claims registered for the Northern Territory and 124 native title determinations.

You can search the Register of Native Title Claims (RNTC) which contains information about all claimant applications that have been registered.




As of April 2024, there were 133 registered Indigenous Land Use Agreements (ILUAs).

You can search the Register of Indigenous Land Use Agreements (ILUAs), which contains information about ILUAs that have been accepted for registration.