Skip navigation

New South Wales

In NSW there are two key mechanisms by which First Nations peoples can have their rights and interests in land and sea formally recognised – Land Rights and Native Title.

Both systems formally recognise and provide for First Nations peoples’ rights, but the two systems operate under different laws and differ in the rights they can provide.

Native title and land rights can sometimes exist on the same land.

Entities that administer land rights / native title in NSW include:


Native title representative bodies and service providers




The NSW Aboriginal Land Council was established in 1977.

Additionally, there are 120 autonomous Local Aboriginal Land Councils (LALCs) across NSW.

All Aboriginal Land Councils are independent, self- funded non-government organisations.

View an interactive map or click on a Land Council below.


North Coast NSW


Mid North Coast NSW


Sydney / Newcastle (Coast)


South Coast NSW


Central NSW


Wiradjuri (South Central) NSW


North Western (North Central) NSW


Northern (Inland) NSW


Western NSW


As of April 2024, there were 8 native title claims registered in NSW, and 88 native title determinations.

You can search the Register of Native Title Claims (RNTC) which contains information about all claimant applications that have been registered.



As of April 2024, there were 30 registered Indigenous Land Use Agreements (ILUAs).

You can search the Register of Indigenous Land Use Agreements (ILUAs), which contains information about ILUAs that have been accepted for registration.